Photo credit:

Alzheimer’s is a disease that affects that parts of the brain responsible for memory, thought, and language. Sadly, it is irreversible and is the 6th leading cause of death in the United States, according to the Alzheimer’s Association.

Whether you’re a caretaker or one of the 5.8 million affected by the disease, you may be wondering what the stages of Alzheimer’s are. We’re here to answer that question!

The Seven Stages of Alzheimer’s Disease

Some doctors break down the progression of Alzheimer’s Disease into three stages: early, moderate and end). But breaking it down into 7 stages helps those affected understand the progression of the illness.

Stage 1: No Impairment

At this point in the disease, no symptoms of Dementia are present and Alzheimer’s is undetectable.

Stage 2: Very Mild Decline

In this stage, the individual may start suffering from memory loss. Although the memory loss experienced will seem very comparable to age-related memory loss. Alzheimer’s will still likely be undetectable as the individual will be able to pass the memory test.

Stage 3: Mild Decline

Memory loss will begin to worsen and you’ll start to notice impaired cognitive function in the individual. It may become difficult to complete sentences, plan or stay organized, and remember where they put things. Generally, physicians are able to detect starting signs of Alzheimer’s Disease at this point.

Stage 4: Moderate Decline

Symptoms of Dementia are very apparent in stage 4. Friends or family may notice that the individual cannot recall short-term memories, forget major details of their life, and may not be able to manage their finances.

Stage 5: Moderately Severe Decline

Stage 5 is usually where the individual will start needing help from a caregiver. Getting dressed for the day, remembering to take medications, recalling information about themselves may start to become a challenge. That said, they will still be able to bathe independently, and may still be able to recall memories from childhood.

Stage 6: Severe Decline

It is during stage 6 that the person will start needing constant help from a caregiver. It becomes difficult to recognize surroundings, friends and family, and details of their past. They lose the ability to hold their bladder, bathe and toilet independently, and may often wander or suffer from major mood changes.

Stage 7: Very Severe Decline

Alzheimer’s, unfortunately, is a terminal illness. Those in stage 7 are nearing the end of their life. They no longer have the ability to respond to their environments, engage with those around them, and no longer can do any part of daily living on their own. In stage 7, the individual is at risk of losing the ability to swallow.

Can Alzheimer’s be cured naturally?

While there is no cure for Alzheimer’s, there are ways that you can improve the quality of life for those affected by the illness. Some steps you can take to lessen symptoms including eating a balanced, low-glycemic diet, avoiding sleep deprivation, eating healthy fats and brain foods, detoxing from heavy metals, manage stress, and receive Neurofeedback treatments.

Contact us in Fishers today!

Are you or someone you love suffering from the symptoms of Alzheimer’s? You don’t have to walk through it alone. Brain Forest Centers can help!

Although we can’t “cure” Alzheimer’s, studies have shown that neurofeedback and treating the inflammation of the gut (Leaky Gut) can help slow the progression, sometimes significantly.  We’ve had some success with this in one of our patients, so we’ve seen it first-hand! Call our Fishers, IN office at (317) 288-9828 to schedule your FREE consultation.